TheOneWhoSees

[Help] Best way to convert to x265 with ffmpeg?

TheOneWhoSees

I am trying to convert my Blu-Ray rips to x265 with ffmpeg.

However, every command I have tried has made the video the same size as the original.

I want to convert them to x265 and make the files smaller, but still high quality (like [psuedo]'s or [bonkai77]'s releases).

What is the best ffmpeg command to do this?

Should I use a different program to do it?

Any help will be appreciated :)

-TheOneWhoSees

I'm not sure if this is the correct section to post this...

The ffmpeg command I use for my own files is:

ffmpeg -i [input file] -map 0 -c:v libx265 -c:a copy [output file]

• Thanks 1

blubbso

Well, you can, and probably should, use a lot more options than the command  @46620 posted to get the most out of H265. I'm by no means an expert in video encoding, but I'll try to explain my process. You should definitely read the ffmpeg wiki pages for H264 and H265, they are very accessible, even to a beginner.

A more comprehensive command

Here is what I use most of the time, and a breakdown of the non-obvious components:

ffmpeg -i [input file] -map 0 -c copy -c:v libx265 -crf [crf] -preset [preset] -tune animation -c:a libopus -b:a [audio bitrate] [output file]

-map 0 means all the "input streams" (video, different audio streams, different subtitles) will be included in the output. By default, ffmpeg selects one from each category and discards the others.

-c copy means "do not re-encode anything unless I tell you to". By default, ffmpeg makes guesses for codecs, which may not be what you want.

- c:v libx265 chooses the x265 encoder for video streams

- crf [crf] sets the constant rate factor. Refer to the wiki links above for a short explanation and sane starting values. You will need to try out a few values.